The J. Paul Getty Trust announced that it will award the third annual J. Paul Getty Medal to Pritzker Prize-winning architect Frank Gehry. The medal will be awarded at a celebratory dinner at the Getty Center on September 28, 2015. “There have been very few individuals in all of history who have changed the course of architecture, and Frank is one of them,” said J. Paul Getty Trust President and CEO James Cuno. “He effectively reinvented architecture with his use of new technologies in the design of beautiful and iconic buildings. And architecture will never be the same as a result.” Over more than five decades, Frank Gehry has built an architectural career that has produced iconic buildings in North America, Europe and Asia, and earned him the most significant awards in the field, including the Pritzker Architecture Prize, perhaps architecture’s premier accolade. Other honors include the National Medal

Read More: Getty announces architect Frank Gehry to receive third annual J. Paul Getty Medal